George Best


I know George Best was an alcoholic and weak. I know he wasted so much of his talent. I know he was not anything like the ideal role model … but he was my footballing hero.
Quite simply, he was the best player I have ever seen, so today has been a sad day. His death was inevitable and I suppose we have to accept he brought it on himself but that somehow adds to the poignancy. He was a footballing genius.
There have been lots of clips shown of George scoring spectacular goals but my abiding memory is not of a goal but of a particular match. I don’t know who Man Utd were playing or what the score was but it was on a snow-covered pitch and everyone but George was falling over. I’m sure that David Coleman was commentating because in my head I can hear his voice marvelling at how this one man could remain on his feet and still show all that fabulous skill in taking on player after player. It was like watching a prima ballerina teaching a group of six-year-olds what was possible if you only dare dream and then work to fulfil it.
Best was one of the highlights of my schooldays: I never wanted to be anyone else when we played football … except maybe Bobby Charlton …

3 thoughts on “George Best”

  1. I have been on-line searching for hours for information regarding alvarez guitars and stumbled across your blog during my journey 🙂 cybervicar your blog is really amazing! Keep up the great work. Obviously my search on alvarez guitars was way off when compared to this post and find it funny how it landed me here. The internet is a funny thing. Anyways, great job on your blogging and keep up the good work! I been searching for alvarez guitars for over 2 hours and needed a break from it. I started reading your blog and really enjoyed it.
    P.S I will add you to my favorites so I can come back and visit later

  2. Hey this blog is not about online guitars. Silly internet bringing me here 🙂 Funny I have been doing hours of research on online guitars and it brought me to your blog on this post. The web plays funny games sometimes. Anyways, I was reading your blog cybervicar and I think it is really cool. Keep up the great work.
    If you do not mind I may snag your blog and put it in my favorites. I read a ton of stuff that interested me. Keep blogging away 🙂

  3. Well I just got back from the gym and I am beat. I am currently doing some research on christian guitars and stumbled across your blog. Which cracks me up really. The internet can certainly land you off base sometimes. Even though this post is not completely related I think it is a cool blog. I have read back through the archives and lots of people make some very good points. Well I have been on-line forever it seems. I need to continue to plug away at christian guitars. If you have the energy swing by christian guitars. I try to update my site weekly and maybe you will see something you like. I already snagged your URL and put it in my favorites. If you do not mind I will be back again. Great job!

Leave a Reply

